Home Marriage Page 18

Marriage

Marriage Certificate Oregon

Marriage Certificate Oregon

 

Guide to Getting a Marriage Certificate in Oregon

 

If you need a marriage certificate in OR for your own research or records, you may not know what state level department to contact.  Not everyone is eligible to obtain any marriage certificate in Oregon, and a request without the correct identification or paperwork is likely to be rejected.  This guide will explain who is eligible to obtain a copy of a marriage certificate in OR, and how you can go about getting a marriage certificate if you are eligible.

 

Who Can Get a Marriage Certificate in Oregon?

 

Currently, only some categories of people are allowed to obtain a copy of a marriage certificate in OR.  In order to get a marriage certificate in Oregon for a marriage that took place in the last 50 years, you are required to show that you are a family member of one of the people who was married (or a member of the couple), an attorney or other legal representative, a person with a personal or property right to the marriage certificate, or someone who is licensed to receive such records.

 

If you do qualify to get a marriage certificate in OR, you will need to provide valid photo identification at the time when you seek the certificate copy.  If you do not have any relationship to the couple and are therefore ineligible to get a copy of their marriage certificate in Oregon, you may still obtain a copy if you can provide a notarized permission form from someone who is eligible.

 

Obtaining a Marriage Certificate in Oregon

 

If you have just gotten married in Oregon, you may obtain a marriage certificate in OR from your county clerk's office.  You may need your marriage certificate in Oregon to show to your employer in order to add a spouse to your health insurance or other benefits plan, or to show to a state agency or the Social Security Administration if you plan to change your name after your wedding.  In some cases, it may be useful to have more than one copy of your marriage certificate in OR.

 

It will generally cost $20 to obtain a certified copy of your marriage certificate in Oregon.  You may also order your marriage certificate in OR from the State Department of Vital Records.  The office accepts requests via fax, phone, internet, and mail.  However, it costs more to get a marriage certificate in Oregon if you are using a credit card: expect a steep $12.50 transaction fee for all credit card transactions. 

 

Obtaining a Marriage Certificate in Oregon for Research

 

Even if you have no eligibility to access a marriage certificate in OR, after 50 years have passed, the records become available to the public.  Any interested party may seek a marriage certificate in Oregon for any marriage that occurred more than 50 years ago.  The process for ordering a copy of this type of marriage certificate in OR is much the same as for ordering a certificate for yourself, with the same costs.

Common Law Marriage Oregon

Common Law Marriage Oregon

 

Guide to Common Law Marriage in Oregon

Many cohabiting couples believe that their relationship qualifies as a common law marriage in OR.  If you believe you are in this type of relationship, or you want to know how to enter into a common law marriage in Oregon, you need to understand the state's marriage laws.  This guide will teach you about current laws surrounding common law marriage in OR so that you can be informed about your own rights in a cohabiting relationship.  For more in-depth information or legal advice about your specific situation, you may want to contact a family Oregon lawyers who can answer your questions about common law marriage in Oregon

History of Common Law Marriage

Common law marriage began in England centuries ago.  Although most couples in medieval times married in a church, marriages were considered valid according to the country's unwritten (“common”) laws even if a couple had said their vows privately, without witnesses.  In many U.S. states, the common law tradition continued, and couples who cohabited and “held themselves out” as husband and wife by taking the same name and filing joint tax returns could be considered common law married.

When a couple had a common law marriage, they were allowed all of the rights of married couples.  They also were required to file standard divorce papers and could not break up their relationship without going through divorce proceedings.  Unlike most states, common law marriage in OR was never approved by the legislature or judiciary.

Is Common Law Marriage in Oregon Currently Legal?

Common law marriage in OR, like in several other states, has never been a recognized arrangement.  While nothing prohibits a cohabiting couple from describing each other as husband and wife, no legal recognition for common law marriage in Oregon exists and couples will not have the protections of marriage regardless of how long they have cohabited or whether they have children.

Because there are no statutes legalizing common law marriage in OR, couples who have been cohabiting do not have to file for divorce (and in fact, a divorce petition would be rejected by the courts).

Alternatives to Common Law Marriage in Oregon

Many people do not know that there is no legal common law marriage in OR, and believe they have the protections of marriage when in fact they do not.  If you want to have some of the benefits of a common law marriage in Oregon without actually taking wedding vows, you may have to consult with a family attorney.  A family attorney may be able to help you and your partner establish a partnership contract, medical power of attorney, or other legal relationship that can give you some similar benefits to marriage.

Out of State Common Law Marriages

While common law marriage in OR is not recognized if the marriage is contracted in the state, ten states and the District of Columbia do still allow common law marriages.  If you were legally common law married in another jurisdiction, you can still continue your common law marriage in Oregon.

Marriage Certificate Oklahoma

Marriage Certificate Oklahoma

 

Guide to Getting a Marriage Certificate in Oklahoma

 

When you are married, you may need a copy of your marriage certificate in OK in order to provide a government agency or your workplace with proof of your marriage for benefits or insurance purposes.  Because Oklahoma does not keep marriage records as part of the state's Department of Vital Records, it can be difficult to find your marriage certificate in Oklahoma.  This guide will teach you how to get your marriage certificate in OK or find a certificate for historical or genealogical research.

 

Who Can Get a Marriage Certificate in Oklahoma?

 

Some states restrict who can obtain a copy of a marriage certificate.  However, a marriage certificate in OK is considered a matter of public record, and you may obtain a copy of any marriage record in the state that interests you.  The only requirements for obtaining a copy of a marriage certificate in Oklahoma are that you know the names of the parties who married.

 

If you are getting your initial marriage certificate in OK, you will need to present proof of identification and age in order to marry.  You will not be required to have a blood test or wait through a waiting period in order to get married and obtain your marriage certificate in Oklahoma.  You may obtain your initial marriage certificate in OK from any county in the state, regardless of which county you choose to marry in.

 

Getting a Duplicate Marriage Certificate in Oklahoma

 

In order to get many government benefits or have your spouse covered by workplace health insurance, you may have to present a certified copy of your marriage certificate in OK.  Getting this type of copy is relatively inexpensive, but will require that you contact your county clerk's office.  A list of contact information for the county clerk in every county in Oklahoma is available here:   

 

Some county clerks may offer the ability to order a copy of your marriage certificate in Oklahoma over the phone or the internet.  In other cases, you may have to go to your county clerk's office in purpose to get your marriage certificate in OK, or mail a copy of your request.

 

Getting a Marriage Certificate in Oklahoma for Research

 

If you need a copy of a marriage certificate in OK County for any marriage that took place between 1889 and 1951, you may be able to find it at the official website for the Oklahoma Historical Society.  However, if you are searching for a marriage certificate in Oklahoma from another time or county, you may have to contact the county clerk in the county where the marriage took place.  These certificates for research purposes will generally cost the same as any duplicate marriage certificate in OK.

 

Some marriage records from the territorial period of Oklahoma history are relatively difficult to acquire or may never have been filed with any county or state government.  In some cases, a marriage certificate in Oklahoma may actually be filed with a county in an adjacent state.

Copy of Marriage License Oklahoma

Copy of Marriage License Oklahoma

 

Getting a Copy of Marriage License in Oklahoma

 

If you need to obtain a copy of marriage license in OK, you may not know where to begin.  This guide can help you get a copy of a marriage license in Oklahoma whether you're applying for an initial license to get married or need a duplicate copy.  You will also learn who is eligible to obtain a copy of a marriage license in OK.  If you need more information about getting a copy of a marriage license in Oklahoma, you may want to talk to your local county clerk.

 

Who Can Get a Copy of Marriage License in Oklahoma?

 

If you are trying to get an initial copy of marriage license in OK, you will be required to show proof of age.  People who are 16 or 17 years old must provide not only proof of age but also permission by a parent or guardian in order to obtain an initial copy of a marriage license in Oklahoma.

 

If you are seeking a duplicate copy of marriage license in OK, or a copy for research purposes, these documents are considered public records.  Any interested party may obtain this type of copy of a marriage license in Oklahoma, as long as they know the names of both parties and when the marriage occurred.

 

Obtaining an Initial Copy of Marriage License in Oklahoma

 

If you want to get a copy of marriage license in OK so that you can get married, you should appear in person at your county clerk's office.  The fee for this initial copy of a marriage license in Oklahoma is $50 for couples who have not completed premarital counseling, but is discounted to just $5 for couples who can show proof that they have completed counseling.

 

You will not be required to wait to marry after you get your copy of a marriage license in OK, provided both members of the couple are 18 or older.  Couples with a member under 18 are required to wait at least 72 hours to have a wedding ceremony after obtaining their copy of a marriage license in Oklahoma.

 

Obtaining a Duplicate Copy of Marriage License in Oklahoma

 

If you need a copy of marriage license in OK for identification purposes or in order to prove your marriage to a government agency, you will need to talk to the clerk of the county court where you received your license.  There is no state agency that keeps track of all marriage licenses in the state, so your copy will only be available from the court clerk and costs may vary.  

 

Obtaining a Copy of Marriage License in Oklahoma For Research

 

For researchers who need a copy of a marriage license, the procedure is usually the same as for those seeking duplicates of their own licenses.  However, if you need a copy of a marriage license in Oklahoma from the state's territorial period, you may have a difficult time: these marriage records are spotty and may not be available in all cases.  Some territorial marriage records are also kept in adjacent states rather than in Oklahoma counties.

Common Law Marriage Oklahoma

Common Law Marriage Oklahoma

 

Guide to Common Law Marriage in Oklahoma

There are many misunderstandings about common law marriage in OK.  The institution of common law marriage in Oklahoma has undergone changes in recent years, and many state residents have been left unsure about the legal status of their relationships.  This guide can provide a basic overview of common law marriage in OK.  If you have questions about whether your specific situation could be construed as a common law marriage in Oklahoma, you may wish to consult with a matrimonial attorney.

History of Common Law Marriage in Oklahoma

Common law marriage in OK is part of a tradition that began in England centuries ago.  According to unwritten English laws (the “common” law), marriages were valid as long as the couple had made vows to each other and cohabited, even if they had not had a wedding ceremony or witnesses.  Many American states continued to recognize common law marriages in the centuries after the United States declared its independence.

Couples who had a common law marriage in Oklahoma were entitled to all the benefits and responsibilities of marriage.  Anyone wishing to terminate a common law marriage in OK had to go through the divorce process, rather than just informally splitting up.

Many states ended common law marriages and began to require couples to obtain a marriage license and have a legal wedding ceremony.  A bill in 1998 began requiring Oklahoma couples to obtain a marriage license, which some people felt spelled the end of common law marriage in Oklahoma.  However, courts continued to recognize the validity of common law marriage in OK, leading to a dubious legal status for these marriages.  In 2005, a bill to end common law marriage in Oklahoma was defeated.

Is Common Law Marriage in Oklahoma Recognized?

Currently, all common law marriages that were contracted in Oklahoma prior to 1998 are recognized legally by the state.  In order to have a common law marriage in OK, a couple is required to have a permanent and exclusive cohabiting relationship.  They must also consider themselves husband and wife, and “hold themselves out” publicly as married.

If you entered into a common law marriage in Oklahoma after 1998, your marital status is complicated.  Courts today may go either way when it comes to these marriages, and in order to gain the benefits of marriage, you may have to have a traditional legal ceremony.  Talking to an attorney can help you if you are not sure whether your relationship constitutes a common law marriage in OK.

Out of State Common Law Marriages

If you have entered into a common law marriage in some other state, your marriage will still be recognized when you move to Oklahoma.  All fifty states recognize marriages contracted in other states, including common law marriages.  Similarly, if you have a valid common law marriage in Oklahoma, other states will recognize your marriage if you choose to move out of the state. If you need legal advice and assistance, contact Oklahoma lawyers.

Annulment of Marriage in Oklahoma

Annulment of Marriage in Oklahoma

 

Guide to Annulment of Marriage in Oklahoma

 

While most marriages end with either divorce or death, there is an alternative to divorce available for some spouses.  An annulment of marriage in OK differs from divorce in several key respects.  This guide will help you understand what an annulment is, and whether your marriage may qualify for an annulment of marriage in Oklahoma.  You'll also learn why a civil annulment of marriage in OK may not qualify under religious laws as a proper annulment.

 

Divorce vs. Annulment of Marriage in Oklahoma

 

When a couple divorces, the court system recognizes that their relationship existed and was valid, but does not exist any longer.  However, when a couple applies for an annulment of marriage in OK, they are in essence asking the court to decide that their marriage never existed legally.  An annulment of marriage in Oklahoma retroactively voids the entire marriage, making it as if the couple had never been married at all.

 

Grounds for Annulment of Marriage in Oklahoma

 

While divorce is available on a no-fault basis for all couples, getting an annulment of marriage in OK is more difficult.  You may only be awarded an annulment of marriage in Oklahoma by showing that in some way, the marriage contract itself was not valid.  While some states consider impotence or insanity grounds for an annulment, you may only get an annulment of marriage in OK by showing that your marital contract was void or voidable at the time when it was contracted.

 

For instance, if one member of a couple was incapable of consent due to his or her age or mental incapacity, an annulment of marriage in Oklahoma may be granted.  Additionally, if the marriage was due to one party being forced or defrauded, the contract is invalid and the court may grant an annulment of marriage in OK.

 

Alternatives to Annulment of Marriage in Oklahoma

 

If you want an annulment of marriage in OK but have no grounds for annulment, you will have to file for divorce instead.  In most cases, it may actually be easier to file for divorce than for an annulment of marriage in Oklahoma.  If you and your spouse can agree on how to divide your property, getting a no-fault divorce can be inexpensive and fast.

 

In most situations, there is essentially no legal difference between a divorce and an annulment of marriage in OK except for the fact that the latter means you have never been married.  In most situations, this distinction is meaningless, and even a couple who qualifies for an annulment of marriage in Oklahoma may choose to divorce instead.

 

Religious Annulment of Marriage in Oklahoma

 

While civil annulment of marriage in OK requires that you prove specific grounds for annulment, religious annulment has different guidelines.  In order to find out about religious annulment in your church, you will need to consult with your religious leader.  Typically, attorneys will not assist with religious annulment of marriage in Oklahoma, so you will need to seek your annulment on your own.  In some religious traditions, annulment is required in order for a second marriage to be recognized by the church.

Common Law Marriage Louisiana

Common Law Marriage Louisiana

 

A brief guide to common law marriage in Louisiana

Along with Washington D.C., there are only ten states that legally recognize common law marriage. However, common law marriages in Louisiana are not recognized by judges or the court system.  Therefore, if you move from another state in which this arrangement is valid, you may need to consider the possibility of getting formally married.

Louisiana law on common marriage is not recognized for many reasons. States which allow for this arrangement require several conditions from people in this kind of relationship:

• Spouses who are in this kind of relationship must both present themselves to other people on a regular basis as husband and wife. However, doing so will still not lead to the validity of common law marriages in Louisiana being recognized.

• Both spouses must be able to legally marry, meaning that they are both of age, in good mental condition and not too closely related. However, meeting all of these requirements still not allow for a common law marriage in Louisiana to be recognized.

Spouses who are involved in this kind of benefit are allowed all the same benefits as those who have a formal marriage certificate, such as filing joint tax returns. However, couples who wish to enter into common law marriages in Louisiana to take advantage of such rights will not be able to.

It is important to note that if you have entered into this kind of relationship in another state, it may be possible to preserve your status if you move. While common law marriage in Louisiana is not an option for those who are already residents, the court system will generally recognize such an agreement if it has already been initiated in another state.

Couples who move to the state and then wish to obtain a divorce may have some difficulty establishing the validity of their relationship. Since common law marriages in Louisiana will only be recognized if they were established in another state, a spouse who seeks alimony payments or couples who have minor children will need to establish the prior recognition of their status. This frequently will require calling in witnesses who can testify that both husband and wife presented themselves as such. Arranging transportation for these witnesses to confirm common law marriages in Louisiana will add to the expense of divorce proceedings.

Another concern you may have if involved in this kind of relationship involves the handling of your assets after your death. Since common law marriage in Louisiana is not recognized, your property will not be automatically be inherited by a spouse. To ensure that your wishes regarding inheritances are respected, it is best to draft a will detailing how you wish for your assets to be divided. This way, even though spouses may have difficulty establishing their rights to inherit as members of common law marriages in Louisiana, they will still receive their fair share of your estate without having to establish the relationship in probate court.

Copy of Marriage License Alabama

Copy of Marriage License Alabama

 

How to obtain copies of marriage license in Alabama

 

To formally marry someone, you must obtain a license from the state. A copy of marriage license in Alabama will be issued for a fee by the county in which you are undertaking the ceremony. This certified copy will be necessary in order to have your marriage legally recognized. 

 

Once you have obtained copies of marriage license in Alabama, you must have the ceremony performed within 30 days. After this period has expired, you will not be able to undertake the ceremony. You will need to request another copy of marriage license in Alabama to perform the ceremony.

 

While it is possible for those aged 16 and 17 to get married, this cannot be done without parental consent. Obtaining the copies of marriage license in Alabama necessary for the ceremony means all parents must come in person to give their written consent. Those 18 and older will only need a government-issued driver's license for this document if they are American citizens. Legal aliens will need a copy of their visa as well their passport in order to obtain a copy of marriage license in Alabama. Contrary to popular belief, it is no longer required to undergo a blood test to obtain this document. 

 

Maintain this documentation for future reference. You will need copies of marriage license in Alabama if you file for divorce at a later date. Additionally, you may need this paperwork if your spouse dies and you are having difficulty receiving the portion of their estate set aside in their will. A copy of marriage license in Alabama may be necessary to prove you are legally entitled to part of their assets.

 

If you misplace this document, you may need to replace it at a later date. Obtaining copies of marriage license in Alabama must be done through the court in the county in which you were married. This may be done either in person or through the mail. The fee for each copy of marriage license in Alabama varies from county to county but will not exceed $5.

 

You must assemble a few facts before receiving this document. The court will need the following details to issue copies of marriage license in Alabama:

 

• The full name of both spouses

• The date on which the marriage occurred

• A phone number at which you can be contacted

 

If you are seeking a copy of marriage license in Alabama that dates back a long period of time, you may need to get in touch with the local public library, city archives or other facility. Generally speaking, any ceremony which occurred more than 30 years ago will not still be maintained by the court. However, every county has a different cut-off date for when it transfers copies of marriage license in Alabama from the court building to another facility. Find the website of the court in the county from which you need this document to determine which office can best help you.

Common Law Marriage Alabama

Common Law Marriage Alabama

 

A brief guide to common law marriages in Alabama

 

Two people who are in a relationship may have their status as a married couple legally recognized even without an official license from the state of Alabama. There are four conditions that must be met if you seek recognition for a common law marriage in Alabama:

 

• Both partners must be mentally capable of entering into a formal relationship. This means that common law marriages in Alabama cannot be entered into by two spouses who do not understand the nature of this kind of relationship or the responsibilities it involves. 

• Both partners must make the nature of their relationship clear to others. For a common law marriage in Alabama to be recognized, both spouses must inform other people of the relationship. At all times, both partners must be open and straightforward in making sure others are aware of their marital status.

• A couple must agree to enter into a permanent relationship in order to enter into common law marriages in Alabama. Sometimes two spouses may be thinking of obtaining a marriage license from the state at a later date. This places the status of their common law marriage in Alabama in question. 

• The spouses must have had intercourse. Without this kind of consummation, common law marriages in Alabama will not be legally recognized.

 

The reasons to enter into this kind of relationship are up to two spouses. However, it is important to be aware that while the court system will recognize a common law marriage in Alabama in some circumstances, it can lead to many complications. This is especially true if a relationship does not succeed. If you wish to separate from your spouse, a court may not be able to process a divorce related to common law marriages in Alabama.

 

Spouses who are involved in this kind of relationship should make sure to create a will documenting how they wish for their assets and resources to be divided after their death. Failure to do so will make it difficult for a partner in a common law marriage in Alabama to collect any part of an estate. In such instances, a spouse who is undertaking the probate process will have to ask a judge to accept their relationship as valid despite the lack of state recognition. This will mean proving that the deceased partner in common law marriages in Alabama intended for their partner to inherit their estate.

 

It is important to understand that these kinds of relationships are only recognized by ten states, as well as Washington, D.C. This means that if you move, another state may not necessarily recognize the validity of your common law marriage in Alabama. In order to have your relationship legally recognized for tax purposes or other reasons, you may have to obtain a marriage license from whatever state you move to. Therefore, if you have a job which requires you to move frequently, common law marriages in Alabama may not be a good alternative to a formal marriage.

 

Annulment of Marriage in Alabama

Annulment of Marriage in Alabama

 

A brief guide to obtaining an annulment of marriage in Alabama

 

If you are Catholic or maintain a belief system which does not believe in divorce but wish to separate from your spouse, there are other options. However, for many people, obtaining legal annulments of marriage in Alabama will be difficult. There are a certain series of circumstances under which this may be granted. You may legally apply for an annulment of marriage in Alabama if:

 

• One or both spouses was underage at the time of marriage. In such instances, annulments of marriage in Alabama will be granted if one or both parties was under 14 years of age at the time of the ceremony

• One or both spouses was drunk or otherwise incapacitated during the marriage ceremony. In this case, an annulment of marriage in Alabama will be granted on the grounds that the person could not commit responsibility to the ceremony.

• Someone who discovers that their spouse was already legally married to someone else has grounds for dissolution of the marriage. Annulments of marriage in Alabama will be granted on grounds of bigamy.

• You married someone who misrepresented anything about their identity, finances or other important issues, that person has committed fraud. This means you are eligible to receive an annulment of marriage in Alabama.

• You were pressured into marrying someone under duress, this means you were pressured into doing so. This makes you eligible for annulments of marriage in Alabama.

• You are married to someone who is impotent and you wish to have children. Impotence is grounds for an annulment of marriage in Alabama.

• You may discover that the person you married is directly or closely related to you. Incest or this kind of "consanguinity" are grounds for annulments of marriage in Alabama.

 

It is important to understand that the Catholic Church does not have legal authority in this area. Because Catholicism does not approve of divorce, you may apply for an annulment of marriage in Alabama through the church. However, if this is granted, you will still be legally married to your spouse. While annulments of marriage in Alabama granted by the Catholic Church may be useful to you personally, they cannot help your legal situation.

 

However, there are alternatives for people who cannot divorce for religious reasons but wish to separate from their partner. Rather than seeking an annulment of marriage in Alabama, consider applying for a legal separation. This is a process similar to divorce, in which two spouses create an agreement detailing how they plan to handle issues such as:

 

• Alimony payments

• Child custody

• Visitation rights for the non-custodial parent

• Division of jointly owned property

 

Even if you are ineligible for annulments of marriage in Alabama, undertaking the legal separation process will allow you to live separately from your spouse and resolve all the same issues that would be settled in a divorce without violating your religious beliefs.