Obtain Copy of Marriage License in New Mexico
Copy of Marriage License: New Mexico
The updated New Mexico statutes have specific laws for obtaining a copy of marriage license. New Mexico licenses are discussed within several sections of Chapter 40, Article 1, and most of the sections about a copy of marriage license in New Mexico are discussed within this article. Additionally, some helpful information about necessary items you’ll have to bring with you to the county court for copies of marriages licenses in New Mexico are provided in this article.
§40-1-10 Obtaining Copies of Marriage Licenses in New Mexico from Clerk
This statute requires that all couples desiring to marry must obtain a copy of marriage license in NM form the county clerk. If either party is under the age of 18, a clerk cannot issue a copy of marriage license in New Mexico without consent from all of the legal guardians.
In order for the clerk to obtain sufficient proof as to the ages of the applicants for the copy of marriage license in NM, affidavits from two people acquainted with the age of the parties must be submitted to the court in New Mexico. If the clerk fails to perform any of their duties for issuing copies of marriage licenses in New Mexico, the clerk may be removed from office. The clerk can also face heavy fines and other penalties for fraudulently issuing a copy of marriage license in NM.
§40-1-11 Certificate Required for Copies of Marriage Licenses in New Mexico
This section of law under the New Mexico revised statutes states that a county clerk must receive a certificate from a certified a physician within 30 days of issuing the copy of marriage license. New Mexico requires the medical certificate for copies of marriage licenses in New Mexico to make sure there is no cause that would bar the marriage by regulations under state law and/or the health and environment department.
Subsection (e) of this New Mexico law states that a county clerk must receive a fee of $25 for issuing a copy of marriage license in NM and marriage certificate. $15 of each fee for the copies of marriage certificates in New Mexico and certificates needs filed with the state treasurer within 15 days of the last day of each month for the children’s trust fund.
§40-1-17 Blank forms required for records
When an application, copy of marriage license in NM, and certificate are completed and returned to the county clerk in New Mexico, the clerk will provide numbered and corresponding blanks in the record book for the publics’ use in the future. If anyone needs to research a copy of marriage license in New Mexico in the future, copies can be obtained from the county courts.
Make sure to bring all Necessary Items for copies of marriage licenses in New Mexico
You’ll want to bring the following items with you in order to obtain a copy of your marriage license in New Mexico:
• Identification: New Mexico law requires you to bring your driver’s license, birth certificate, U.S. passport, military ID car, or your Social Security number for a copy of marriage license in NM. You won’t have to bring all these items, but you will need at least one so the registrar can verify your identity for copies of marriage licenses in New Mexico.
• Divorce Decree: If you were in another marriage and went through a divorce, you’ll need to bring a copy of the divorce decree with you to the county court before receiving a copy of marriage license in NM.
• Fees: Costs for filing documents may range in New Mexico, and a New Mexico court cannot issue a copy of marriage license in NM with insufficient funds.