Marriage Certificates in West Virginia
Marriage Certificate: West Virginia
In order to validate a marriage certificate in West Virginia, a couple must follow a number of steps and make sure the marriage is valid under law. This article will discuss steps two people should take to finalize their marriage certificate in West Virginia after obtaining a marriage license, but qualifying factors to legally marry need explained beforehand.
Eligibility for Marriage Certificate in WV
In order to receive a marriage certificate in WV, two future spouses cannot try to enter into a marriage that is otherwise void by law. Marriage certificates in West Virginia cannot be issued in any of the following circumstances as discussed in §48-3-10 of the state’s code:
• marriage certificates in West Virginia are prohibited if there is consanguinity or affinity between the parties
• the marriage certificate in WV is void if either person was insane, infected with venereal disease, impotent, or convicted of a crime without the other party’s knowledge during solemnization
• marriage certificates in West Virginia are void if either party is under the age of 18 without consent from all guardians or parents
• a marriage certificate WV is void if a wife was with another person’s child without the husband’s knowledge
• a marriage certificate in West Virginia may be void if the wife was notoriously a prostitute or the husband was notoriously a licentious person
Solemnization Requirements for Authoring Marriage Certificates: West Virginia
According to §48-2-401 of the state’s code, the following people may solemnize a marriage and sign a marriage certificate in West Virginia:
• a religious representative unless otherwise restricted to sign a marriage certificate in WV according to §48-2-402
• a family court judge, a circuit judge, or a justice of the supreme court of appeals may also validate marriage certificate in West Virginia
Return Signed Marriage Certificate in West Virginia to County Clerk
A marriage certificate in West Virginia must be signed by the person who legally solemnized the marriage. Also, the marriage certificate in WV must be returned to the county court by the sixth day of month after the month the marriage was celebrated and the marriage certificate in West Virginia was signed.
After the clerk has received the validated and completed marriage certificates in West Virginia, the county court will be the full custodian of records relating to the marriage between the two parties. If any copies of the marriage certificates in West Virginia are needed in the future, a party should call or visit the county court in which they submitted the original certificate.
There are strict penalties for obtaining a marriage certificate in West Virginia fraudulently. If either party or the clerk has falsely placed information on an application, license, or marriage certificate in WV, they may face serious penalties. Penalties for fraudulent information and signatures also apply to officiators. The state has strict penalties that will result in termination of the clerk or officiator’s position, and a person can be convicted of a misdemeanor for fraudulently signing or placing false information on the marriage certificate in WV.
Additionally, a clerk can serve county or regional jail time from 3 to 9 months and receive a fine between $200 and $1,000 for fraudulently approving marriage certificates in West Virginia.