Copy of Marriage License Utah

Copy of Marriage License Utah

Share
Copy of Marriage License Utah

 

Obtaining Copy of Marriage License in UT

 

Copies of Marriage Licenses: Utah

 

The updated Utah code has specific laws for obtaining a copy of marriage license.  Utah licenses are discussed within several sections of Title 30, Chapter 1, and most of the sections about the copies of marriage licenses in Utah are discussed within this article.  Additionally, some helpful information about necessary items you’ll have to bring to obtain a copy of marriage license in Utah is also provided in this article.

 

§30-1-7 on Use of Copy of Marriage License in UT

 

This section of law on copies of marriage licenses in Utah states: 

 

• no marriage may be solemnized in the state without a copy of marriage license (Utah) by the county clerk of any county of this state

• a copy of marriage license in UT issued by a county clerk may only be used within this state

• copies of marriage licenses in Utah not used within 30 days will become void

 

§30-1-8 Applications for Copy of Marriage License in UT

 

This law discusses the majority of information about applying for a copy of marriage license in Utah.  A county clerk needs the following information:

 

• the full names of the man and woman, including the maiden name

• current address of each party 

• date and place of birth

• names of their respective parents

• birthplaces of fathers and mothers

• the distinctive races or nationality of each of parents

• if the woman is widow and applied for a form copy of marriage license in UT

• approved and signed petition from a Judicial Council for copy of marriage license in Utah if either party is under 16

• social security numbers may not be recorded on the copy of marriage license in UT

 

• the Department of Health may request a social security number only in the case of Recovery Services within the DHS

 

§30-1-13 Solemnization without Copy of Marriage License in UT

 

This section of law on copies of marriage licenses in Utah provides penalties for officiators in certain cases.  If a person knowingly solemnizes a marriage without a copy of marriage license in Utah, and either party is under 16 without approval by the court, he or she is guilty of a third degree felony.  

 

§30-1-11 Returning Copy of Marriage License in Utah after Ceremony

 

This law states that copies of marriage licenses in Utah must be returned in 30 days.  Validation of the copy of marriage license in Utah needs signature of the officiator, the date and place of the celebration, and names of two or more witnesses.  

 

If a person fails to return the copy of marriage license in Utah, they may be guilty of a misdemeanor. 

 

§30-1-16 Misconduct of clerk for issuing copy of marriage license in UT

 

This law provides penalties toward a clerk unlawfully issuing copies of marriage licenses in Utah.  If the clerk issues a prohibited copy of marriage license in UT, they can receive a fine up to $1,000, be confined in a state prison for up to two years, and be removed from their duties permanently.  

Comments

comments

Share

Related Articles

Read previous post:
Gay Marriage Rights

Close