How to Obtain Copies of Marriage License in North Carolina
Receiving a Copy of Marriage License: North Carolina
There are two ways you can receive copies of marriage certificates in North Carolina: you can request to receive a copy through NC vital records, or you can go to your local county court or register of deeds and receive the forms there. If want to request a copy of marriage license (North Carolina) from vital records, you should view the following website to submit a request electronically:
You can also submit a request for copies of marriage license (North Carolina) at the physical location of the office:
North Carolina Vital Records
225 N. McDowell St.
Raleigh, NC 27603
If you want to obtain copies of marriage license (North Carolina) through your local court, follow the directions in the section listed below.
Step 1: Visit your Local County Court or Register of Deeds
The first step to obtaining a copy of marriage license (North Carolina) is calling or traveling to the county court in your jurisdiction. A list of local courts and registers of deeds is provided link.
Some counties give you the option to send in a request by mail, but many courts require you to show proper identification in person with the clerk. If you do not have the option to send in a request through the mail, make sure you follow all of the steps listed below very carefully.
Step 2: Bring all Necessary Items for copies of marriage license (North Carolina)
You’ll want to bring the following items with you in order to obtain the copy of marriage license in North Carolina:
• Identification: NC law requires you to bring your driver’s license, birth certificate, U.S. passport, military ID car, or your Social Security number. You won’t have to bring all these items, but you will need at least one so the clerk can verify your identity.
• Divorce Decree: If you were in another marriage and went through a divorce, you’ll need to bring a copy of the divorce decree with you to the county clerk. The same rules apply for obtaining copies of marriage license (North Carolina) if you are a widow.
Step 3 Pay the Fee for the Copy of marriage license (North Carolina)
In order to obtain the first copy of marriage license in North Carolina, you’ll usually have to pay $24 for the first copy you receive—and this fee may range from county to county. For more copies of copies of marriage license (North Carolina), you’ll only have to pay $15 for each, and there are other fees associated with how fast you need the form. Because fees may range in the state of NC from jurisdiction to jurisdiction, you’ll want to call the clerk and ask them about the fees so you can properly prepare.