How to Obtain a Copy of Marriage License in Missouri
Since marriage is such a serious thing in Missouri – and anywhere, for that matter – it would make sense to know the ins and outs on how to apply for a copy of marriage license in Missouri.
For many, getting copies of a marriage license in Missouri is quite the hassle. And it definitely a damper on those wedding plans at times. But if you stay well-informed on how to get a copy of marriage license in Missouri, it should be a breeze to put that ring on the finger standing at the altar.
Here Are Some Basic Requirements for Obtaining a Copy of Marriage License in Missouri:
1. ID Requirement
2. Residency Requirement
3. Proof of Being Unmarried or Legally Divorced
4. “Covenant Marriage” Requirement
5. Waiting Periods
7. Proxy Marriage Requirements
8. Consanguinity Requirements
9. “Common Law” Marriage Requirements
10. Same-Sex Marriage Requirements
11. Age Requirements
12. Officiant Requirements
To obtain valid copies of a marriage license in Missouri, one must have a valid identification. You also need that identification to even apply for the marriage license. In addition, to obtain that copy of marriage license in Missouri, it wouldn’t hurt to have some Social Security numbers handy.
Believe it or not, in the state of Missouri, there is actually no residency requirement to get a copy of marriage license in Missouri. You, however, obviously must be a resident to get married before getting that copy of marriage license in Missouri!
You must also prove that you’re indeed divorced or unmarried before getting any copies of a marriage license in Missouri. Additionally, the law in Missouri in regards to getting a copy of marriage license in MO states that you must wait at least 30 days after that decree of divorce before actually getting married again.
There’s no such need for a “covenant” marriage, nor is there a general waiting period to obtain copies of a marriage license in Missouri. However, in the state of Missouri, expect a fee of at least $58 to simply get married with a valid marriage license before getting a copy of marriage license in MO. Depending on the county, you may need cash – no checks or credit cards – to pay for that marriage license before getting a copy of marriage license in MO.
There’s also no need for proxy marriages by law, nor is there a requirement for “cousin” marriages when getting copies of a marriage license in Missouri, even though by law an annulment can be issued for such a thing. Same-sex marriages are actually prohibited when getting a copy of marriage license in MO, basically voiding any attempted marriage license between two people of the same sex. This was decided in the state of Missouri back in 2004.
Anyone under 18 can get married and obtain a copy of marriage license in MO with the consent of a custodial parent or legal guardian. Even individuals under the age of 15 can get married and apply for a marriage license! You would need the approval of a county judge, though.
As for officiants? Basically anyone ordained or commissioned within the Circuit or District Court, or even retired from the courts, can stand before a couple in marriage.
Knowing the laws in Missouri in regards to marriage is crucial to the legality of the institution. Go through the appropriate process to legitimize it all; know how to obtain those copies.