How to Get a Copy of a Marriage License in Maryland
It doesn’t take a genius to know that a marriage needs to be official by having something written down – in essence, a copy of a marriage license in MD. How does someone obtain a copy of a marriage license in Maryland?
The Basic Requirements for Obtaining a Copy of a Marriage License in Maryland:
1. ID Requirement
2. Residency Requirement
3. Proof of Being Unmarried or Legally Divorced
4. “Covenant Marriage” Requirement
5. Waiting Periods
7. Proxy Marriage Requirements
8. Consanguinity Requirements
9. “Common Law” Marriage Requirements
10. Same-Sex Marriage Requirements
11. Age Requirements
That’s how you get a copy of a marriage license in MD.
Starting With ID Requirements When Getting Copies of a Marriage License in Maryland….
Acquiring that copy of a marriage license in MD would absolutely mandate the need for a picture ID – like a driver’s license. You should also know your SSN by heart as well as your origin of birth, state and county, if you want that copy of a marriage license in MD.
Residency Requirement for a Copy of a Marriage License in MD?
While you need to be a resident of Maryland to file for the marriage license before getting married, to obtain a copy of a marriage license in Maryland requires no residency at all.
That means if you move to a different state, you can still get a copy of a marriage license in Maryland without trouble.
Proof of Being Unmarried or Divorced?
Holds the entire process accountable, actually. Since any marriage would be null and void if one of the partner’s is already married to someone else.
In addition, anyone can say that they’re divorced; but the proof needs to be there. If you’re in a divorce process, you’re still not legally divorced until the actual judgment has been passed.
So a certified copy of the judgment must be issued when obtaining copies of a marriage license in Maryland.
What About Covenant, Proxy, or Consanguinity Marriages?
Not an issue, apparently. Not until it’s petitioned by the other party as an ‘unlawful’ marriage. Any record can show up in the state of Maryland, and anyone can obtain copies of a marriage license in Maryland – even if it’s about an illegal or invalid state of being, in this case about a marriage.
Is There a Waiting Period?
Yes. Just two days to get copies of a marriage license in Maryland. And, yes, that means you technically can’t get married until two days after taking the application for the license.
Is There a Fee?
The standard fee for copies of a marriage license in Maryland could be anywhere from $35 to $85.
What About Common Law Marriages or Same-Sex Marriages?
The surprising thing about Maryland is that they don’t allow these types of marriages – but they accept these marriages elsewhere.
That simply means if you decide on a “Common Law” marriage or same-sex marriage in another state and decide to move to Maryland, the state will recognize your marriage as if it were legal.
How Old Do You Have to Be to Get Copies?
In Maryland, it’s unlawful for anyone under the age of 15 to get married.
It’s Actually Really Easy!
Keep everything official, they always say. Obviously, once you know what you’re doing, getting those copies are a breeze. Just stay well-informed.