Obtaining Copies of Marriage Licenses: Kansas
Copies of Marriage Licenses: Kansas
The updated Kansas statutes have specific laws for obtaining a copy of marriage license. Kansas licenses are discussed within §23-106 and several other sections of the revised statutes, and several sections are discussed within this article. Additionally, some helpful information about necessary items you’ll have to bring to obtain a copy of marriage license in Kansas is also provided in this article.
§23-106 on Copies of Marriage Licenses in Kansas
This section of law on copies of marriage licenses in Kansas provides procedures and guidelines for both parties and the clerk. The parts of this section are discussed below:
(a) The clerks of the district court will only issue a copy of marriage license in Kansas to parties who are legally entitled to marry within the state.
(b) No clerk or judge can issue a copy of marriage license in Kansas before the third calendar day following the date of the filing of the application except in emergency situations. The court will keep records of all issued copies of marriage licenses in Kansas.
(c) A clerk of a judge cannot issue a license if either of the parties is under the age of 16 except in situations that would serve the best interests of the child with proper consent from the child. If either party is in between the ages of 16 and 17, they must also have consent from legal guardians to go ahead with the marriage. If there is no living legal guardian, a judge will make the decision.
(d) Once the ages of the parties are confirmed and they meet other qualifications, an affidavit will be issued by the clerk or judge that states the two parties may lawfully marry in the state of Kansas.
(e) If either party makes false claims, they may receive up to a $500 fine and a misdemeanor.
(f) Every copy of marriage license in Kansas will expire within 6 months from the date of issuance.
Other Important Sections of Law about Copies of Marriage Licenses: Kansas
There are other sections of law that address a copy of marriage license in Kansas. For example, §23-110 of the statutes states that the secretary of health and environment needs to index all records, make changes to those records, and issue copies to the court used as prima facie evidence of the facts state in them.
Additionally, §23-112 states the following about copies of marriage licenses in Kansas:
“The judge or clerk of the district court shall keep a correct copy of all marriage licenses returned with the endorsement on the license by the person performing the marriage ceremony.”
Important Items to Bring when Obtaining Copies of Marriage Licenses in Kansas
When applying for a copy of marriage license in Kansas, make sure you bring proper identification, your birth certificate, and enough money for the filing of the application. Fees will range in Kansas, so you may want to contact the local district court before submitting the application.