Copy of Marriage License Arkansas

Copy of Marriage License Arkansas

Share
Copy of Marriage License Arkansas

 

 

Obtaining Copies of Marriage Licenses in Arkansas 

 

 

Copies of Marriage Licenses: Arkansas

 

 

The revised Arkansas code has specific instruction for obtaining a copy of marriage license.  Arkansas licenses are discussed within Chapter 11 of Title 9 of the annotated code, and several sections are discussed within this article.  Additionally, some helpful information about necessary items you’ll have to bring to obtain a copy of marriage license in Arkansas is also provided in this article.

 

 

Section 9-11-205 Notice of intention to wed—Noncompliance, penalties, and effect

 

 

This section of law on copies of marriage licenses in Arkansas provides procedures for both parties and the clerk.  The parts of this section are discussed below: 

 

 

(a) A marriage cannot be issued by the clerk of the court unless a notice of intention to wed has been signed by both applicants applying for the copy of marriage license in Arkansas and filed with the county clerk.  

 

 

(b) The notice of intention to wed needs to state the name, age, and address of both parties trying to wed in the state of AR.  

 

 

(c) The county clerk will verify the age of both parties and use birth certificates as prima facie proof of age in order to declare the marriage as legal. 

 

 

(d) The notice of intention to wed referred to in this section needs filed with the county clerk where the copies of marriage licenses in Arkansas are obtained.  

 

 

(e) The county clerk may destroy the notice of intention to wed 1 year after the date of issuance if the parties have not yet married.  

 

 

(f) If the county clerk or any of the parties trying to obtain a copy of marriage license in Arkansas fail to comply with the provisions of this section, each party can be fined up o $500 and be convicted of a misdemeanor.  

 

 

(g) No marriage can be declared as void for failure to comply with the provisions of this section. 

 

 

Other Important Sections of Law about Copies of Marriage Licenses: Arkansas

 

 

The following sections of state code provide more important provisions for copies of marriage licenses in Arkansas: 

 

 

Section 9-11-207

 

 

This section of code states that no clerk can issue a copy of marriage license in Arkansas to any person or persons if at any time during the contracting of the license either party is visibly under the influence of alcohol or other drugs.  The parties must appear completely sober.  

 

 

Section 9-11-208

 

 

This section states that copies of marriage licenses will not be issued to parties of the same sex.  If another state recognized same sex marriages, the marriage will be declared as void within the state of Arkansas.  

 

 

Important Items to Bring when Obtaining Copies of Marriage Licenses in Arkansas

 

 

When applying for a copy of marriage license in Arkansas, make sure you bring proper identification, your birth certificate, and enough money for the filing of the application.  Fees will range in Arkansas, so you may want to contact the local circuit court before submitting the application.  To contact clerks around the state, visit the link below

 

 

Comments

comments

Share

Related Articles

Read previous post:
Gay Marriage Rights

Close