Annulment of Marriage in Texas
Annulment Procedures in Texas
Annulment of Marriage in Texas
Annulment of marriages in Texas may occur in numerous circumstances. Some of these circumstances are described in this article, and you can also find information on how to file for an annulment of marriage in Texas in the second section of this article. For more information, contact your local clerk or regard more information on this website through recommended articles.
Grounds for Annulment of Marriages in Texas
There are multiple grounds for divorce under Subchapter (B) of Chapter 6 in Title 1 of the Texas Family Code. The following grounds for the annulment of marriage in Texas are listed below:
1. Section 6.102 (a)- a court can grant an annulment if the person is 16 years of age but under 18 and was married without the consent of a parent or without court order. Certain exceptions for annulment of marriages in Texas under this subsection apply if the female is pregnant.
2. Section 6.105- a court can grant an annulment if one party was under the influence of drugs or alcohol during the time of the marriage and did not have the capacity to give proper consent. Additionally, the person must not have voluntarily cohabitated with the other party after the drugs or alcohol has worn off.
3. Section 6.106- a court may grant an annulment of marriage in Texas if the part was permanently impotent at the time of marriage for physical or mental reasons, the other party did not know about the impotency, and the petitioner has not cohabitated with the other party since learning of the impotency.
4. Section 6.107- Courts can grant an annulment in marriages in Texas if there is evidence one party used fraud, duress, or force to have the petitioner enter into the marriage and the petitioner has not cohabitated with the person since learning of the fraud or since being released from the force.
5. Section 6.108- the court may grant an annulment of marriage in Texas if the petitioner did not have the mental capacity to consent to the marriage because of a mental disease or defect
6. Section 6.110- if marriages have occurred 72 hours before the marriage license was issued, the court can mandate annulment of marriages in Texas up to 30 days after the marriage but not after 30 days.
How do I file for an Annulment of Marriage in Texas?
There are a number of simple steps you can take to file for annulment of marriages in Texas. General steps are listed below, and for more information, you should consider consulting with a family law attorney:
1. Make sure you are eligible for an annulment of marriage in Texas
2. Obtain the proper forms you’ll need for the annulment. You can visit the county clerk for these forms in your jurisdiction.
3. Fill out and take all forms to the courthouse in the jurisdiction you’re filing in. You will have to pay filing fees.
4. Enter into an annulment hearing. If you have agreed upon conditions such as child custody and property division with your former spouse, the process will go much faster.