Marriage

Copy of Marriage License West Virginia

Copy of Marriage License West Virginia

November 30
00:00 -0001

Copy of Marriage License West Virginia

 

Obtaining Copy of Marriage License in WV

 

Copy of Marriage License: West Virginia

 

The updated WV code has specific laws for obtaining a copy of marriage license.  West Virginia licenses are discussed within several sections of Chapter 48, Article 1, and most of the sections about a copy of marriage license in West Virginia are discussed within this article.  Additionally, some helpful information about necessary items you’ll have to bring with you to the county court for copies of marriage licenses in West Virginia are provided in this article. 

 

§48-2-102

 

This section of law states that copies of marriage licenses in West Virginia may be obtained from the county clerk in which either party resides.  If both parties are out of state, a copy of marriage license in WV may be obtained from any county court.  Additionally, copies of marriage licenses in West Virginia may be obtained during normal business hours of the county court.  

 

§48-2-103

 

This section states that if either party is under the age of 18, the county clerk must wait at least 2 days to issue a copy of marriage license in WV, and there must be approval from all legal guardians.  If there are extraordinary circumstances, a circuit can approve an immediate copy of marriage license in West Virginia by filing an affidavit along with the application.  

 

§48-2-106

 

This section of law states both parties need proper proof of age in order to obtain copies of marriage licenses in West Virginia.  The following documents for a copy of marriage license in WV will help the court decide if the marriage would otherwise be void by certain law:

 

• a certified copy of a birth certificate

• a voter’s registration certificate 

• an operator’s or chauffeur’s license

• the affidavit of both parents or legal guardians for the copy of marriage license in West Virginia

 

§48-2-202

 

This section of law states how marriage certificates and copies of marriage licenses in West Virginia must be returned after a ceremony.  The person who solemnized the marriage must endorse the certificate and copy of marriage license in WV, provide where and when the ceremony was held, and before the sixth day of month after the month the marriage was celebrated, return the copy of marriage license in West Virginia to the county clerk.  

 

If the marriage is not solemnized within 60 days after the copy of marriage license in WV was issued, the license is void.  If copies of marriage licenses in West Virginia are not returned to the clerk within 60 days, the clerk must send a return request for the copy of marriage license in WV.  

 

§48-2-203

 

This section of WV law states the county clerk must keep detailed records of all copies of marriage licenses in West Virginia.  The clerk is required to record the following information:

 

• eligibility factors considered before the copy of marriage license in WV was issued

• the number of copies of marriage licenses in West Virginia issued by the clerk

• an endorsement on the copy of marriage license in West Virginia from the person who solemnized the marriage

 

Share

About Author

admin

admin

Related Articles