Copy of Marriage License Texas
How to Obtain Copies of Marriage Licenses: Texas
Receiving a Copy of Marriage License in Texas
Receiving copies of marriage licenses in Texas is quite easy as long as you follow a few steps. These steps are listed in this article, as well as information about Texas County Courts and things you may need to bring with you when requesting a copy of marriage license in Texas.
Step 1: Visit your County Court
The first step to obtaining copies of marriage licenses in Texas is calling or traveling to the County Court in your jurisdiction.
Some counties give you the option to send in a request by mail for a copy of marriage license in Texas, and you’ll want to ask the clerk what steps you should take to request by mail. Contact information is located farther below in this article.
Step 2: Bring All Necessary Items
You’ll want to bring all the following items with you:
• Identification: Texas law requires you to bring your driver’s license, birth certificate, U.S. passport, military ID car, or your Social Security number. You won’t have to bring all these items, but you will need at least one in order to receive a copy of marriage license in Texas.
• Divorce Decree: You must wait 30 days after a divorce becomes official in order to obtain copies of marriage licenses in Texas. The divorce decree must state that the 30 day waiting period is waived, you can obtain a copy of the divorce decree from your area’s district court. Contact information is listed farther below in this article.
Step 3: Pay the Fee
The clerk will answer any questions you have, will have to pay a fee for one copies and a reduced fee for any additional copies of marriage licenses in Texas. For example, the Tarrant County Court charges $21.00 for the first copy, and $10 for any additional copy you may want at the same time Some counties charge up to $71 after all the fees, so prepare for a range in price.
Fees range by county and district in Texas, and some of these fees for the copy of marriage License in Texas are not posted on the websites of the County Court. The clerk will notify you of fees when you travel to or call the court.
But note, as of 2008, your fee will be waived for the copy of marriage license in Texas you complete 8 hours of premarital preparation courts.
How do I find County Court Contact Information?
If you want copies of marriage licenses in Texas and need contact information for the County Court, there is an easy way to find contact information for every County Court in TX.
Then, select your county from the range of counties, and press Go. You’ll find contact information for all County Clerks and you’ll have an easy time obtaining copies of marriage licenses in Texas.