Copy of Marriage License Michigan
How to Obtain Copies of Marriage Licenses in Michigan
Receiving a Copy of Marriage License: Michigan
There are two ways you can receives copies of marriage licenses in Michigan: you can fill out a simple for and send it to vital records, or you can go to your local county clerk and receive the forms there. If you want to submit a form to vital records for a copy of marriage license in Michigan.
After you have completed all the necessary information on the form, you send the form to the following address:
Vital Records Requests (or Vital Records RUSH if you need the form quickly)
PO Box 30721
Lansing, MI 48909
If you want to obtain copies of marriage licenses in Michigan through your county court, follow the directions in the section listed below.
Step 1: Visit your Probate Court
The first step to obtaining copies of marriage licenses in Michigan is calling or traveling to the county court in your jurisdiction.
Some counties give you the option to send in a request by mail, but many courts require you to show proper identification in person with the clerk. If you do have the option to send in a request through the mail, make sure you follow all of the steps listed below very carefully.
Step 2: Bring all Necessary Items for copies of marriage licenses in Michigan
You’ll want to bring the following items with you in order to obtain the copy of marriage license in Michigan:
• Identification: Michigan law requires you to bring your driver’s license, birth certificate, U.S. passport, military ID car, or your Social Security number. You won’t have to bring all these items, but you will need at least one so the clerk can verify your identity.
• Divorce Decree: If you were in another marriage and went through a divorce, you’ll need to bring a copy of the divorce decree with you to the county clerk. The same rules apply for obtaining copies of marriage licenses in Michigan if you are a widow.
Step 3 Pay the Fee for the Copy of Marriage License in Michigan
In order to obtain the first copy of marriage license in Michigan, you’ll usually have to pay $26 for the first copy you receive—and this fee may range from county to county. For more copies of marriage licenses in Michigan, you’ll only have to pay $12 for each, and there are other fees associated with how fast you need the form.
Because fees may range in the state of Michigan from jurisdiction to jurisdiction, you’ll want to call the clerk and ask them about the fees so you can properly prepare. The county clerk is not allowed to verify a copy of marriage license in Michigan if you fail to bring a valid form of identification or the proper amounts of payment.