Laws Lawyers Find Laws Legal Forms State Laws Bills
Home » Find Laws » Marriage Laws » Marriage Certificate Texas

Marriage Certificate Texas

Listen
How to Obtain a Marriage Certificate in Texas Receiving a Marriage Certificate in Texas In order to receive marriage certificates in Texas, you must meet certain qualifications and take a number of steps to register.These qualifying factors and steps are listed in this article, as well as contact information for County Clerks around the state of Texas. Qualifying Factors for Marriage Certificate in Texas According to Hood County of Texas two people must meet a number of qualifications before they can receive a marriage certificate in Texas.The qualifying factors for marriage certificates in Texas are listed below: • A person must be 18 or older in order to receive a marriage certificate in Texas without the consent of a legal parent • If the applicant is between the ages of 16 and 17, they must bring a certified copy of their birth certificate that was issued in the last 10 years • If the person is between the age of 16 and 17, they must have approval from the court or parental consent • If receive parental consent, parents listed on the birth certificate must give consent or a divorce parent must be present, give written consent, and present a certified copy of custody papers in order for the child to receive consent for the marriage certificate in Texas • If the person is under the age of 16, they must receive judicial approval and these cases are extremely rare Step 1: Contact the County Clerk In order to receive marriage certificates in Texas, couples must contact the county clerk and travel to the office with a valid government form of identification and fees that will range in every county around the state of Texas.For example, according to the Harris County website—http://www.cclerk.hctx.net/Personal_Rec/Marriage_License_Information.aspx—there is a state filing fee of $71 for a marriage certificate in Texas, as well as a $25 fee for new marriage certificates.Texas residents should expect ranging fees from county to county. Step 2: Obtain Divorce Records if Necessary If you have recently been in a divorce, you need a copy of a divorce decree in order to obtain a marriage certificate in Texas.The divorce decree must state the 30 day waiting period has been waived in order to receive marriage certificates in Texas. Step 3: Make sure the marriage certificate does not expire If you need to use the certificate for filing purposes, the marriage certificate in Texas will expire after 30 days if the marriage ceremony has not been conducted in that time period. How do I find County Clerk Contact Information? If anyone needs marriage certificates in Texas and needs contact information for the County Clerk as well, there is an easy way to find information for all County Clerks and District Courts in Texas. First, you should visit the directory under the Texas Department of State Health Service at the link provided. Then, select your county from the range of counties.You’ll find a complete list of County Clerks in that area on the next page.
Font Size: AAA
Loading...
  • Play
  • Pause
  • Volume:
  • Mute
  • Half
  • Max
  • Marriage Certificate Texas

    How to Obtain a Marriage Certificate in Texas

    Receiving a Marriage Certificate in Texas

    In order to receive marriage certificates in Texas, you must meet certain qualifications and take a number of steps to register. These qualifying factors and steps are listed in this article, as well as contact information for County Clerks around the state of Texas.

    Qualifying Factors for Marriage Certificate in Texas

    According to Hood County of Texas two people must meet a number of qualifications before they can receive a marriage certificate in Texas. The qualifying factors for marriage certificates in Texas are listed below:

    • A person must be 18 or older in order to receive a marriage certificate in Texas without the consent of a legal parent

    • If the applicant is between the ages of 16 and 17, they must bring a certified copy of their birth certificate that was issued in the last 10 years

    • If the person is between the age of 16 and 17, they must have approval from the court or parental consent

    • If receive parental consent, parents listed on the birth certificate must give consent or a divorce parent must be present, give written consent, and present a certified copy of custody papers in order for the child to receive consent for the marriage certificate in Texas

    • If the person is under the age of 16, they must receive judicial approval and these cases are extremely rare

    Step 1: Contact the County Clerk

    In order to receive marriage certificates in Texas, couples must contact the county clerk and travel to the office with a valid government form of identification and fees that will range in every county around the state of Texas. For example, according to the Harris County website—http://www.cclerk.hctx.net/Personal_Rec/Marriage_License_Information.aspx—there is a state filing fee of $71 for a marriage certificate in Texas, as well as a $25 fee for new marriage certificates. Texas residents should expect ranging fees from county to county.

    Step 2: Obtain Divorce Records if Necessary

    If you have recently been in a divorce, you need a copy of a divorce decree in order to obtain a marriage certificate in Texas. The divorce decree must state the 30 day waiting period has been waived in order to receive marriage certificates in Texas.

    Step 3: Make sure the marriage certificate does not expire

    If you need to use the certificate for filing purposes, the marriage certificate in Texas will expire after 30 days if the marriage ceremony has not been conducted in that time period.

    How do I find County Clerk Contact Information?

    If anyone needs marriage certificates in Texas and needs contact information for the County Clerk as well, there is an easy way to find information for all County Clerks and District Courts in Texas.

    First, you should visit the directory under the Texas Department of State Health Service at the link provided.

    Then, select your county from the range of counties. You’ll find a complete list of County Clerks in that area on the next page.

    Related Articles

    Link To This Page

    Comments

    POPULAR IN MARRIAGE

    Find Public Records About Marriage With No Hassle
    MARRIAGE
    Find Public Records About Marriage With No Hassle
    Common Law Marriage Florida
    MARRIAGE
    Common Law Marriage Florida
    Guide to Finding a Lawyer
    Tips