Copy of Marriage License Maine
What is a Marriage License?
Marriage licenses, in the United States are formal documents issued by churches and/or government bodies to formally permit couples to marry in certain jurisdictions.
Attaining a copy of a marriage license will vary based on location; the requirements and procedural rules attached to marriage licensing process will fluctuate annually and by jurisdiction.
Marriage licenses are required in many jurisdictions throughout the United States; the license serves as the official record of marriage. In those jurisdictions that do not require a copy of a marriage license, the couple must present a “pardon.” These jurisdictions will invariably recognize marriages by cohabitations and common-law unions; both of these types of unions do not require licensing. If the jurisdiction in question does require the delivery of a marriage license, the document must be signed by the couple and witnessed by a certain number of people over the age of 18.
Obtaining a Marriage License in Maine:
To legally be regarded as married, a couple must attain a copy of marriage license Maine. Before securing this document; however, the couple must adhere to the state’s general marriage requirements. Failure to abide by copy of marriage license ME laws impedes you and your prospective spouse from tying the knot.
Copy of Marriage License ME: Laws and Regulations Attached to the Process
To legally marry in Maine, the couple must be at least 16 years of age. If either party is below the age of 18, consent must be provided by the mother, father or legal guardian of both parties. Consent may be achieved in person before the ceremony or via a written statement—written statements require a proper oath before a notary public. Such provisions are implemented to allow under age parties to marry when the female is pregnant and in situations where the underage parties are without legal guardians or parents.
Copy of Marriage License Requirements Maine:
To receive a copy of marriage license Maine, you must observe the following rules, requirements and procedures:
• Blood Tests: Copy of marriage license ME laws does not require a mandatory blood test for the retrieval of a copy of marriage license Maine
• Where do I go to obtain a copy of my marriage license Maine?
o A copy of marriage license ME is issued by the clerk of a circuit court in any city or county in the state. The delivery of a copy of marriage license ME is performed in multiple locations throughout each county. To secure a copy of marriage license Maine, you must, under oath, provide information required to satisfy the marriage record. Said information is material in nature; applicants caught lying or expressing invalid information may be prosecuted for perjury. For divorced couples, Maine will waive the statutory waiting period unless the marriage is prohibited by the courts. In some counties, clerks may require documentary proof of age. Moreover, the majority of clerks in Maine are closed on Saturdays.
• Time constraints associated with getting a copy of my marriage license Maine:
o Maine marriages must be performed within 60 days after the license is issued. The state of Maine does not implement a waiting period between application and issuance of the marriage license. Moreover, Maine couples may be officially married immediately after the issuance of a Maine marriage license.
• Fees associated with securing a copy of my marriage license ME:
o Any individual authorized to celebrate the rites associated with marriage is permitted—according to Maine marriage law—to be not taken advantage of with regards to fees.
• What happens if the marriage was performed outside of Maine?
o For marriages performed outside of Maine, the application for a copy of marriage license ME must be applied for in the county where the marriage was held. In this situation, you must contact the county you were married in to attain a copy of the marriage record.
marriage license ME : Rules Concerning the Marriage Ceremony:
To hold a legal wedding you and your prospective spouse must adhere to the state’s guidelines for the marriage ceremony. Please read the below information to ensure that your wedding ceremony falls in line with state law. Failure to abide by said laws will result in a failure to retrieve a copy of marriage license Maine:
• Who is allowed to perform?
o In Maine, any minister of any religious denomination may perform a wedding if—and only if—they are authorized by a circuit court to celebrate the rites of matrimony. To secure said authorization, the minister is required to produce proof of his/her regular communion and ordination with the religious society of which she/he is a member. Moreover, the court in each Maine County and city labels persons as eligible to perform civil wedding ceremonies.
• Do I Need Witnesses to attain a copy of my marriage certificate Maine?
o The state of Maine does not impose any statutory requirements concerning the presence of witnesses at the marriage ceremony. Witnesses are not required to attain a copy of marriage certificate Maine
• Securing a Copy of Marriage Certificate Maine:
o To secure a copy of your marriage certificate Maine, the minister—or other official—responsible for officiating the marriage must complete and sign the Marriage Return and the Marriage Register. Both of these forms must be sent to the clerk of the court who issued the marriage license within 5 days of completion of the wedding ceremony. The Marriage Return will then be forwarded to the clerk of the court to the State Division of Vital Records. In addition to said forms, the officiate may prepare a certificate to the newly married couple. If the person or minister who performs the ceremony does not return the Marriage Return and Register to the clerk who issued the license, there will be no record of the marriage. Also, the state of Maine does not place any residency requirements on those seeking to attain a copy of marriage certificate Maine
o To receive a copy of marriage license Maine, you must contact the clerk of court who originally issued the license. Additionally, you may contact the Maine Division of Vital Records (Richmond, Maine) and pay a fee of $12.00 for each copy of your marriage license Maine. When you apply for a copy of marriage certificate Maine, the following information must be included: full name of the bride, full name of the groom, date and location of the marriage and the name of the circuit court that issued the original marriage license.